IN CASTLES OF LVIV “A GOLDEN HORSESHOE”
Meeting at the station
Departure on the excursion in castles of Lviv ‘’ A golden horseshoe’’
OLESKIJ CASTLE : The first written recollection about Oleskij castle was in 1327, when it became the property of Yurij – a son of mazovetskij prince Rtoiden and a russian princess Mary. Yurij was invited by boyars on Galicia-Volyn prince’s throne after family Romanovychej has disappeared. According to this date a castle was built by one of Galicia – Volyn prince Yurij Lvovych sons – Andrew or Leo.
PIDGORETSKIJ CASTLE was built in the 17th century by a French engineer Boplan, and a three-storeyed palace was built by an Italian Del Aqua. That castle looks like a palace than a fortress and make a contrast with strong military fortposts of Podillia. At first it was mentioned in Brodskij acts in Batiev in the village Pidgirtsy. Maybe it is the name of a mounting on a Pidgoretskij hill.
ZOLOCHIVSKIJ CASTLE : was built in 1630s and represent a citadel with bastions. In the 17th – 18th centuries a castle belonged to Sobeski and Radzivillam on the hill and was surrounded by banks and escarps. A Big Palace and a Chinese Palace are built in the yard of the castle.
Returning to Lviv (the whole day excursion )
Supper in a Calicia café
Transfer to a station